He did me Wright – but I wasn’t there to hear it.

I cannot believe this happened. I was at work listening to the Mets/Padres game this afternoon. The game started at 12:10pm. I made sure I went to get lunch before that time so that I could listen to the entire game. I had a meeting at 3 but thought for sure the game would be over by then.

Right. Or Wright, I should say.

It’s 2:55pm. The score is tied at 3, bottom of the 9th with 2 outs. Mets are at bat and out comes my favorite player, David Wright. I’m being called to my meeting but I yell that it’s the end of the game and I’ll be right there. I listen to Wright miss the first pitch. I throw my headphones down and go to my meeting, not knowing how the game will turn out.

An hour later, I come back and check the score. Apparently on that very next pitch, David Wright hit a two-run home run to win the game for the Mets 5-3 and Shea Stadium went nuts.

And I missed it. đŸ˜¦ I saw it online this evening but it’s not the same. I’m so upset about this, I can’t even tell you. At least #5 got out of his slump this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

